Ass 3 Thoughtful Reflection

My assignment 3 finally comes to an end what means my MUV601 journey finishes as well. I really enjoyed the process of doing this assignment and it gave me a whole new experience. This is my first contact with Second Life and this is also the first time I have created a character in the virtual world based on my own preferences. I think it is very interesting and I believe that after this class, I will return to the virtual world of Second Life to do more character creation.

I also learned a lot from this project. First, I realized the importance of planning. At the beginning of this project, we should make our task plan first. Through making task plan, I can clearly know what I need to do and then follow the plan step by step in the next six weeks. This will avoid having all tasks completed in the last few days. Second, I have learned a lot about the creation of characters. I learned how to change the size of the items. For example, the hat I bought from marketplace was not suitable for me so I modified its size. What surprised me the most is that I can also edit the avatar’s face, figure and the other parts of body. This allows me to create a unique character based on my needs. The alpha is another very important knowledge I have learned. If we don’t apply an alpha (transparent) layer to the body parts, it may cause the body pokes through the clothes. The last but not the least, during my process of doing this assignment, I met lots of people in Second Life. They were friendly and always said hello to me when we met. I also joined a community and we met regularly to do some sports. I really enjoyed these exciting experience.

I also want to thank my tutors. No matter when I meet problems, they are always pleased to help me to solve them. I think I’m lucky enough to meet such two kind tutors.

I didn’t know anything about the virtual world at the beginning. After a semester of studying, I know more about it now. I believe I will study further about the virtual world in the future. I really enjoy this MUV601 journey.

Leave a comment