Ass3 Developments 1

A combined selection of system clothing, layers and attachments of at least 20 unique items is required in this assignment. The character I have created is a Olympic ski champion, so it is necessary to choose some sportswear and Ski equipments for her. Other than these, her appearance should look like some athletes. For example, the body should be tall. This blog is about 20 items for my character.

  • Item 1: Hair

Previously my character’s hairstyle was long hair. In my opinion, short hair is more suitable for a female athlete, so I changed my new character to short hair. This hairstyle comes with the system. I chose the avatar of Chris and it provides this short hairstyle.

This is the creator of the hair and as I said before, the hair comes with the system, so the creator is one of the Linden Lab Employee.

  • Item 2:Ski boot base
  • Item 3: Ski Pole
  • Item 4: Ski Boot Top
  • Item 5: Ski Board

Item 1 to Item 5 all belongs to Ski Set. They are necessary equipments for a skier. I found these items in Kalepa, the place I have chosen as my environment. I got them for free.

Here is the creator’s information.

  • Item 6:Ski Goggles

My character is a Skier, so a pair of ski goggles is necessary for her. I bought it in Second Life Marketplace by L$50. There are two ways to wear it, they are on eyes and on head. When the character is skiing, she can use the goggles on eyes and put the goggles on head at other time.

Here is the details of ski goggles’ property. Its creator is Euterpe Zagoskin who has been in Second Life for 4611 days.

Property Details
  • Item 7: Hat

Kalepa is a snow world and it is important to have a hat to keep warm. I bought this had in Second Life Marketplace.But the size of this hat is not very suitable for me. For this reason, I edit the size of the hat in order to make the size of the hat match character’s head. What’s more, it also benefited from the author allowing me to modify his items.

Here is the details of hat’s property. Its creator is Euterpe Zagoskin who was born in Second Life on 14th of October in 2006.

Property Details
  • Item 8: Gloves

This pair of gloves and the hat as mentioned above is a set. It was bought in SL Marketplace as well.  This pair of gloves is for a classic avatar only. Fortunately, the avatar I chose is a classic avatar and I don’t need to modify its size. It is suitable for my body.

As I said before, the gloves and the hat is a set. So its creator is the same as the hat’s.

Property Details
  • Item 9: Ski Shirts
Ski Clothes

This shirt is specially prepared for skiing. It is very different from ordinary clothes. I got this ski shirt from Marketplace. Its tight fit allows skiers to be less hindered while skiing. This pants is suitable for classic avatar, so I don’t need to modify its size and it can be well adapted to my body.

Here is the ski shirt’s property details. Its creator is Euterpe Zagoskin. The hat and the gloves I mentioned before were created by her as well.

Property Details
  • Item 10: Ski Pants
Ski Pants

This pants and the clothes above are a set and they have the same color and function for skiers. This pants also created for classic avatar so it is suitable for my character.

This Ski Pants’ creator is also same as the Ski Shirt’s, Euterpe Zagoskin.

Property Details
  • Item 11: Jacket
Jacket

Kalepa is a cold place full of ice and snow. It is necessary to have a jacket to keep warm. I got this jacket in marketplace. There are several colors for me to choose and the reason why I chose red color is that Winner Kim(my character) is Chinese and Chinese people like red color. Chinese flag is also red and the color of red also means good luck and powerful. The creator of this jacket does not allow me to modify it but the creator provides four sizes for me to choose, they are S, M, L and XL. The size of M is the most suitable size for me and I finally chose this one.

Here is the jacket’s property details. Its creator is Fade Arcade who was born in Second Life on 23th of October in 2012.

  • Item 12: Snow Boots
Snow Boots

Snow boots is necessary equipment for the people live in snow world and it can protect the feet from frostbite. I bought it in marketplace. Except for snow boots, it also has a ‘Walk in Snow’ crunch sound when I walk.

When I first put it on, my toes were exposed. Then I added shoes alpha and finally solved the problem.

Here is the creator’s details. The creator of snow boosts is unknown but there is a Information card in the Snow Boots inventory. I think Katrina Kalchek should be the creator.

  • Item 13: Healthier Skin
Healthier Skin

I have changed the skin of my character. She is a skier who trains outdoors all the year round.In addition, the snow and ice reflects a lot of ultraviolet rays, so it is easy to tan. Therefore, I think the healthier skin is more reasonable. I got this from marketplace.

Here is some details about the creator of healthier skin.

Alpha is one of the most important items for the character. The alpha channel’s pixel values, ranging from black to white, determine the texture’s degree of transparency. Transparent textures are used to create organic shapes such as flames, trees, clothing with ripped fabric — just about anything where visibly boxy dimensions are undesirable.

  • Item 14: Shoe Alpha

The above two pictures show the shoes that are added Shoe Alpha and this way the feet will not be exposed. When I first wore shoes for the character I created, I didn’t add shoe alpha and some of the feet were exposed.

  • Item 15: Ski jacket Alpha

The above two pictures show the ski jacket that are added Ski jacket Alpha. If I didn’t add this alpha, the jacket will have a lot of “small holes”. Just like the picture below.

Reference:

https://community.secondlife.com/knowledgebase/english/textures-and-alpha-channels-r71/

Leave a comment